All about Driving License in India

Have you renewed your driving license yet? Owning a car isn't only about happiness and pleasure but also a responsibility. When you drive your car on the Indian roads, the prominent thing is to adhere to the Indian driving rules. To accomplish your duty, you must possess a driving license. Yes, a driving license is as important as owning a car. You can be an expert or an amateur in driving, but it won't take your vehicle out on the road if you don’t have a driving license.

A driving license is a piece of documentation that allows you to drive on Indian roads. Let us say a "permit". There are different types of driving licenses based on the categorizing various criteria. This article much more specifies the importance of a driving license and what are its types.

What is a Driving License? How is it important?

  • A driver’s license refers to a document that permits one to drive on Indian roads, and the ownership of this document certifies that an individual is aware of the road rules, laws, and signs and is capable of driving a vehicle. 
  • Under the Motor Vehicle Act, 1988 possessing a driving license is mandatory by law. If you do not have a driving license, it will inflict a heavy penalty and in some cases a prison sentence as well. 
  • One of the major benefits of a driving license is that it also acts as identity proof. In case of misuse or loss of a driving license, filing an FIR is recommended.

Eligibility Criteria for Driving License in India

  • A driving license is not for everyone. It has age criteria that meet the Government's eligibility requirements. 
  • Individuals should be 18 years of age. He/she should be mentally and physically fit. One should also be literate.
  • However, generally the LMV + MCWG license class suffices. LMV means Light Motor Vehicle while MCWG means Motorcycle With Gear.
  • Under this category, individuals are permitted to drive four-wheeled vehicles weighing not more than 7500kg. Vehicles like motorcars, jeeps, taxis, delivery vans, and motorcycles/scooters with/without gears also come under this class.
  • For those who are new to driving, a driver’s license is obtained in two phases. One is the learning phase and the other is when you earn a permanent driving license.

Phase 1:

  • This license has a validity of 6 months before having a permanent one. It implies that you’ve got a period of 6 months to fine-tune your driving skills before you apply for a permanent driving license. However, you can apply for a permanent license after a month as well.

Phase 2:

  • Right after your phase 1 period, you will be eligible to avail permanent license. For that one has to pass an exam and a driving test to which he/she will be issued a permanent driving license. If you don’t pass the test, you can reapply in 7 days.

Documents required:


  • House Agreement
  • LIC policy bond
  • Voters ID Card
  • Ration Card
  • Electricity bill issued in applicant name
  • Aadhar Card
  • Passport
  • Temporary address proof (Registered Rental agreement and LPG bill/electricity bill)

Age Proof (Anyone)

  • Birth Certificate
  • Pan Card
  • Passport
  • SSC Certificate
  • School transfer certificate with date of birth printed on it.

Other Documents

  • 3 passport-size photographs while applying for a learner's license.
  • 3 passport-size photographs while applying for a permanent driving license.
  • Application Fees
  • Duly filled application form.
  • For applicants above 40 years, a medical certificate is mandatory.

Types of Driving Licenses in India

Learner's License:

  • As mentioned earlier, after filling up the application at an RTO (Regional Transport Office) specific to the individual’s location, a learner’s or a provisional driving license is given. This license has a validity period of 6 months from the date of issuance.

Permanent Driving License:

  • This license is issued to the individual who has passed the written and driving test conducted by the RTO. Having this kind of driving license certifies that the individual is well versed in driving a light motor vehicle on the road and has a sound understanding of traffic signs and symbols. 
  • This license is valid for a period of 20 years from the date of issuance, or till the license holder reaches the age of 50 years, whichever is earlier. After this period they will have to renew their driving license, which is basically appearing for a driving test again.

Commercial Driving License:

  • It is a special driving license issued to individuals who drive Heavy Motor Vehicles, Medium Motor Vehicles, and Light Goods Transport Motor Vehicles for business purposes like transporting passengers or goods. 
  • The eligibility criteria for obtaining this license are different from the above two. An individual needs to have passed standard 8th, be at least 18 years of age, 22 in some states, and must be trained from a government motor school or a school tied up with a state government. 
  • Driving heavy vehicles requires a lot of skills and proper training as the onus of the safety of goods and passengers is entirely on the driver. It has a validity of 3 years, post which it has to be renewed. 

International Driving Permit:

  • This permit certifies that the individual is in possession of a valid driver’s license and is eligible to drive in foreign lands. This permit is printed in many languages to help authorities better understand the individual’s eligibility. 
  • To avail of this license, one must have a valid permanent driving license and file an application at the local RTO. This permit is valid for a period of one year post which reapplication is required, it cannot be renewed.


Proper renewal can save you from larger penalties. Know completely about the driving license and take one before owning a car. Kuwy is always ready to guide you on these requirements once you make a car-owning decision.

Do contact us by phone or email for your queries. Download the Kuwy app without fail. 

Happy Learning!!


Leave a comment : All about Driving License in India